Compare
Point cloud software compared
Which point cloud software should you use? It depends on the job. Below, 47 tools that process point clouds or Gaussian splats, compared with Neurones 3D on price, licence, offline use and the deliverables: AI classification, floor plans, CAD drawings, contours, change detection and splats. Every competitor fact comes from the vendor's own documentation and is dated; open a tool for the full comparison and its sources.
By Dr. Florent Poux, maker of Neurones 3D · Checked
Where Neurones 3D stands
- Free to run everything. The free viewer runs every process, AI classification and floor plans included; you pay once, only to save the results.
- Offline. No account, no upload, no telemetry: nothing leaves your machine.
- Deliverables, not a toolbox. Classified LAS, dimensioned floor plans with sections and elevations (DXF, PDF, SVG), DTM and contours, change maps, meshes and reports from one program.
- Point clouds and Gaussian splats in the same scene, and splats converted to points so the same tools apply.
- Measured. Every figure published, with its dataset: the benchmarks.
- Honest about its limits. Windows only; no DWG; it does not train splats; registration is cloud-to-cloud.
Laser scanning and survey suites
| Tool | Price | Runs fully offline | One-time licence available | AI point cloud classification | Automatic floor plans | DXF / CAD drawings | Contour lines | Change detection | Gaussian splats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neurones 3D | Free viewer; paid editions bought once, no subscription | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Autodesk ReCap Pro | £366 a year (£31 a month billed annually), £42 a month billed monthly, or £1,092 for 3 years, including estimated VAT (UK store); Flex tokens needed for cloud processing | Not stated | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bentley iTwin Capture | iTwin Capture Engine from €4,095.00 EUR (12-month Virtuoso subscription); iTwin Capture WorkSuite from €5,115.00 EUR (12-month Virtuoso subscription); Cloud Services: price on request | Yes | Not stated | Add-on | Not stated | Not stated | Add-on | Add-on | Yes |
| Carlson Point Cloud | price on request | Not stated | Yes | Add-on | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| FARO SCENE | price on request | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Leica Cyclone (REGISTER 360 PLUS, Cyclone 3DR) | price on request | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Add-on | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| NavVis IVION | price on request | In the cloud | No | Not stated | In the cloud | Partly | Not stated | Partly | Not stated |
| TopoDOT | Enterprise 300: $12,000 licence + $26.00 per user-day; Enterprise 500: $18,000 + $23.00; Enterprise 1000: $28,000 + $19.75 (as published) | Not stated | Partly | Partly | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Partly | Not stated |
| Trimble RealWorks | price on request | Partly | Partly | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
Aerial and drone LiDAR, GIS and photogrammetry
| Tool | Price | Runs fully offline | One-time licence available | AI point cloud classification | Automatic floor plans | DXF / CAD drawings | Contour lines | Change detection | Gaussian splats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neurones 3D | Free viewer; paid editions bought once, no subscription | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Agisoft Metashape | Professional Edition $3,499; Standard Edition $179 (node-locked) | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Partly | Not stated |
| ArcGIS Pro | price on request | Partly | Yes | Add-on | Not stated | Yes | Add-on | Add-on | Add-on |
| DJI Terra | Agriculture, 1 year, 3 devices: 300 € on the DJI Store; Standard and Flagship: price on request from DJI dealers | Partly | Yes | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Global Mapper Pro | US $1,750 single user node-locked (maintenance US $610 for 12 months); US $2,625 floating or USB dongle; US $5,250 network (North American pricing) | Partly | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| LAStools | Commercial single seat: 1,500 € per individual tool, 5,000 € for LAStools with BLAST; office-wide LAStools with BLAST 15,000 € (excluding VAT) | Yes | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Partly | Not stated |
| LiDAR360 | price on request | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Partly |
| LP360 | price on request | Partly | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Partly |
| PIX4Dmatic | PIX4Dmatic from USD 125 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| RealityScan | Free under $1 million USD annual gross revenue and for education; otherwise $1,250 per seat per year | Not stated | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Terrasolid | TerraScan 5,700 € perpetual (maintenance 855 € a year) or 1,710 € a year; TerraModeler 3,600 € perpetual or 1,080 € a year (net prices, VAT 0 %) | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Add-on | Partly | Partly |
Scan to plan and scan to BIM
| Tool | Price | Runs fully offline | One-time licence available | AI point cloud classification | Automatic floor plans | DXF / CAD drawings | Contour lines | Change detection | Gaussian splats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neurones 3D | Free viewer; paid editions bought once, no subscription | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cintoo | price on request | No | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In the cloud | Add-on |
| EdgeWise | EdgeWise Lite USD 1,995 a year; EdgeWise Pro price on request | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Matterport | Free plan; Starter from $12 a month, Professional from $58 a month, Business from $296 a month (billed annually, price based on Active Spaces); Enterprise on request | Not stated | No | Not stated | Add-on | Add-on | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| PointCab Origins | Origins Core EUR 3,000.00, Origins 3D EUR 4,900.00 (perpetual, as listed in the vendor's shop); dongle for offline use EUR 180.00 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Partly | Yes | Yes | Partly | Not stated |
| Pointorama | Flex EUR 49 one-time per project; Launch EUR 490 a year (2 projects a month); Grow EUR 1,490 a year (8 projects a month); Scale EUR 3,900 a year (30 projects a month) | No | Partly | In the cloud | In the cloud | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Undet | Undet for AutoCAD: EUR 139 a month (sale, from EUR 199), EUR 1,200 a year or EUR 2,500 for 3 years. Undet for SketchUp: EUR 59 a month (sale), EUR 500 a year or EUR 1,200 for 3 years, excluding VAT. Undet for Revit: not stated on the pages read | Not stated | No | Not stated | Partly | Yes | Not stated | Partly | Not stated |
AI and cloud point cloud services
| Tool | Price | Runs fully offline | One-time licence available | AI point cloud classification | Automatic floor plans | DXF / CAD drawings | Contour lines | Change detection | Gaussian splats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neurones 3D | Free viewer; paid editions bought once, no subscription | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Flai | Starter EUR 40 a month (EUR 480 a year); Growth EUR 150 a month (EUR 1,800 a year); Professional EUR 500 a month (EUR 6,000 a year); on-premise and Flai Lib price on request | Partly | No | In the cloud | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hexagon GeoCloud (formerly Leica Reality Cloud Studio, HxDR) | price on request | No | No | In the cloud | Not stated | Add-on | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated |
| Lidarvisor | Lite USD 29 a month or USD 228 a year; Premium USD 89 a month or USD 708 a year; Advanced USD 249 a month or USD 2,004 a year | No | No | In the cloud | Not stated | In the cloud | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mach9 Digital Surveyor | price on request | No | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Pointly | Professional S EUR 99 a month (500 MPoints); Professional M EUR 490 a month (5,000 MPoints); Professional M+ EUR 790 a month; API from EUR 0.15 per million points; Pointly Box from EUR 19,000 a year | Partly | No | In the cloud | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Free and open-source tools
| Tool | Price | Runs fully offline | One-time licence available | AI point cloud classification | Automatic floor plans | DXF / CAD drawings | Contour lines | Change detection | Gaussian splats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neurones 3D | Free viewer; paid editions bought once, no subscription | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| CloudCompare | Free | Yes | Yes | Add-on | Not stated | Partly | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| MeshLab | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open3D | Free | Yes | Yes | Add-on | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated |
| PDAL | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Point Cloud Library (PCL) | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated |
| Potree / PotreeDesktop | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| QGIS | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
Gaussian splatting tools
| Tool | Price | Runs fully offline | One-time licence available | AI point cloud classification | Automatic floor plans | DXF / CAD drawings | Contour lines | Change detection | Gaussian splats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neurones 3D | Free viewer; paid editions bought once, no subscription | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Brush | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Jawset Postshot | Indie EUR 26 a month billed monthly or EUR 204 a year; Studio EUR 59 a month billed monthly or EUR 468 a year (excluding VAT) | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| KIRI Engine | Pro USD 79.99 a year (equal to USD 6.66 a month) or USD 17.99 a month | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In the cloud |
| LichtFeld Studio | Free to build from source under GPLv3; prebuilt Windows binaries for a donation of your choosing | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Luma AI (Luma 3D Capture) | Luma 3D Capture is free on the App Store; Luma's paid plans (from $30 a month) are for its image and video models | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Nerfstudio / gsplat | Free | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Polycam | Basic $150 a year ($12.50 a month) or $30 billed monthly; Business $400 a year per user ($33 a month); Enterprise on request | No | No | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | In the cloud |
| Scaniverse | Free; Plus $20 a month or $200 a year; Pro $50 a month or $500 a year; Enterprise custom | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In the cloud |
| Splat Labs | Starter $14 a month; Business $69 a month; Enterprise $158 a month billed annually, LiDAR add-on $1,599 a year (yearly billing saves up to 30%) | No | Not stated | Not stated | In the cloud | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | In the cloud |
| SuperSplat | Free | Partly | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| XGRIDS Lixel CyberColor (LCC) | Not published on the vendor's site | Partly | Not stated | Add-on | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
Every comparison
How the comparison was made
Written by the maker of Neurones 3D, so read it as such, and check what matters to you. Each tool's facts come only from its vendor's published documentation, pricing pages and listings, read on the date shown on its page; every cell links to its source. "Not stated" means we could not find it documented, not that the tool cannot do it. "In the cloud" means the processing happens on the vendor's servers, so the data is uploaded. Neurones 3D's column comes from its own guides, limits included. Corrections are welcome at howto@learngeodata.eu.